You are here: Home Peace Women Awards

Queensland Peacewomen Awards


WILPF Queensland’s Peacewomen Awards recognise the talents and dedication of women whose activities have promoted peace at the local, national and/or international levels.


panel theme reduce size

Join us in celebrating three inspiring Queensland women of peace on the afternoon of Sunday 24 July,

This year the Awards will also feature a panel discussion on the theme of "Climate Justice, Women and Peace".

Venue: The Shore Restaurant, Arbour View Cafes (off Little Stanley St) South Bank Parklands, Brisbane

Book your tickets here.     Share the event on Facebook here.



Our awards this year celebrated the 100 years since WILPF was founded in Queensland, when in Brisbane, on 12 November 1915, the Women's Peace Army held a public meeting against the first world war.

Congratulations to the Peacewomen of 2015:

  • May Lamont - educator and community developer (represented by Gayle Carrick)
  • Professor Carole Ferrier - academic, feminist and antiwar activist
  • Dr Nora Amath - interfaith leader and champion of cultural minorities
  • Dr Aunty Joan Hendriks - Quandamooka Elder and social justice campaigner


Previous Peacewomen Award recipients


  • Ms Virginia Balmain, for her inspiring leadership in theUnited Nations Association of Australia and hercontinuing commitment to education for peace
  • Ms Frederika Steen AM, for her long career assisting and advocating for migrants and refugees, first in the public service and now as a volunteer with the Romero Centre
  • Ms Gitie House, for her commitment to multiculturalism and her leadership in the Darling Downs community
  • Emerging Peacewoman : Ms Claire Maizonnier, for her scholarship in peace and conflict studies and her research in the Asia-Pacific region and in South America

awardees resized


Award winners 2014:  Virginia Balmain, Gitie House, Freddie Steen, Ashlee Teakle (representing Claire Maizonnier who was in Peru at the time of the awards)

 Claire MaizonnierEmerging-Peacewoman-2014




  The 2014 awards major sponsors were:

JPIC logoGold Sponsor - Justice Peace and Integrity of Creation,Franciscan Schools Association Australia    

Qld-CoA-Stylised-2LS-mono-SupportedBy silver


Silver Sponsor - Office for Women, Queensland Government




  • Associate Professor Marianne Hanson, for her research on disarmament, teaching and community engagement.
  • Dr Aila Keto, for her research and activism for the preservation and conservation of rainforests.
  • Dr Ros Kidd, for her research and activism on the human rights of Indigenous Australians.
  • Ms Heather Millhouse, for her work as a community educator in non-violent communication and conflict resolution.
  • Dr Olivera Simic, for her research on women’s human rights in conflict situations [see Olivera's appeal for funds for the Association of Women Survivors of Rape and Torture in Republika Srpska, based in Bosnia and Herzegovina, on WILPF Qld Facebook].
  • Ms Ravina Waldren, for her community peace building, especially in the Indigenous community.

Awardees-photo-by-Tony-Robertson-300x199Award winners 2013 - Heather, Ravina, Ros, Marianne, Olivera and Aila (photo: Tony Robertson)






 2012pwa2012 resized

  • Sr Pauline Coll, particularly for her work on human rights.
  • Sr Wendy Flannery for her work on human rights and environmental awareness.
  • Karen O’Donahue for her work with young people.
  • The women who work on the organising committee of the Warwick Peace Festival for their work in creating a culture of peace across a whole community.
  • Heather Williams, Brenda Lewis Award for an outstanding contribution to WILPF Queensland.



Award winners at the 2011 Peace Women Awards resized


  • Annette Brownlea, Just Peace, Building Peaceful Communities
  • Boni Robertson, Human Rights and Anti-Discrimination
  • Trish Morrow, Sustainable Living and the Environment (absent as working in Haiti)
  • Mary Ziesak, Brenda Lewis Award for an outstanding contribution to WILPF Queensland






20102010 PWA recipients


  • Joan Shears, Palm Sunday Rally - Volunteer Community Work
  • Debbie Kilroy, Sisters Inside - Business/Professional
  • Kim Eaton, Government
  • Wanita Limpus, NGO
WILPF logo
 "There is no way to peace; peace is the way."  
Edith Greene Balch, founding member of WILPF and Nobel Peace Prize winner, 1946.