You are here: Home Centenary Australian Peacewomen Awards

Australian Peacewomen Awards


28 May 2015 - Great Hall, University House, Canberra

The inaugural WILPF Australian Peacewomen for our centenary year are:

  • Helen Caldicottphysician, author and anti-nuclear advocate; founder of several associations dedicated to opposing the use of nuclear power, depleted uranium munitions, nuclear weapons, nuclear weapons proliferation, war and military action in general.
  • Anne Gallagher - independent scholar and legal adviser to the United Nations and Association of South East Asian Nations; leading global expert on the international law in human trafficking, migrant smuggling, and transnational organized crime; named as a ‘Trafficking in Persons Hero’ by then US Secretary of State Hillary Clinton.
  • Helen Durham - director for International Law and Policy at the International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC) based in Geneva – the first Australian to be appointed as a Director with ICRC and the first woman Director of Law in the 150 year history of the organisation.
  • Kirstie Parker - Co-Chair of the National Congress of Australia’s First Peoples, Director of Reconciliation Australia, and a Co-Chair of the national Close the Gap Campaign.  Kirstie is also a member of the Deadly Awards Executive Academy; former editor of the 100% Aboriginal owned and controlled newspaper, the Koori Mail.

Register to attend the Peacewomen Celebrations cocktail reception now

5.30-6.00 Registrations
6.00-6.30 Gathering and mingling - canapés and drinks
6.30-8.30 Official program

Chorus of Women – A Passion for Peace
Welcome to country
Video of Centenary Peacewomen: Helen Caldicott, Anne Gallagher AO, Helen Durham, Kirstie Parker
Presentation to Peacewomen or their representatives
Guest speaker – Madeleine Rees OBE, Secretary-General, WILPF International

8.30-9.00 Canapés and drinks
9.00 Evening close


WILPF logo
 "There is no way to peace; peace is the way."  
Edith Greene Balch, founding member of WILPF and Nobel Peace Prize winner, 1946.